Aspire Proteus causing strong throat taste/coughing

I have received 5 Aspire Proteus mods to sell from a authorized reseller in china.

I have kept one myself to test and use....when trying to vape from a glass hookah i'm finding i'm getting a strong taste of my e liquid in my mouth after a few drags and barely no smoke too the more you smoke it.

First 2 pulls are fine and produce nice smoke production and nice taste.....then after that i get the symptoms i mentioned above. i've tried changing liquids to higher vg and lower vg, even changing the coil and the same keeps happening making it literally unusable.

Any ideas why this is happening? i am quite new to this sort of stuff.
Comments
  • 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited November 2015 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Hi @oli307 and welcome to the forum.

I noticed the same thing. It's due to the vapour partly condensing between puffs.

Here's part of the text for my review for the Proteus:

(To be released soon)

Unlike the smoke from shisha, the vapour produced by the Proteus is mainly water. This will condense rapidly in your hookah. You will not get the most out of your Proteus unless you tune your hookah to minimize condensation. Before starting it is a good idea fo find out what the Proteus is truly capable of. Hold the Proteus in your hand and connect your hookah’s hose directly to the base, then inhale. You should get puff after puff of a dense, flavourful vape. The goal while tuning your hookah is to get as close to this as possible. Some of the things you can do to tune your hookah, from those with the most effect to the least are:

• reduce the air space in your vase
    • reduce the length of your down stem
    • use hot water in your vase
    • use a hookah with a shorter stem
    • use shorter hookah hoses