Odyssey kit experience and questions/suggestions.

Hello Internet, new vaper here with a few questions. Sorry if this gets a bit long. Thank you for the help in advance.

I started vaping about a month ago on an itaste clk 800, after 3 weeks the battery stopped firing so I took it back and the store handed me an aspire pen battery to get me through until mine was back from warranty no questions asked. I found the flavour to be better on the aspire with all the same power. I have been researching vaping and which box mod to start with for about 3 months. I wanted to avoid the "standard vaping progression" of starting small and working up through mods. I wanted something I could try as much variation as possible and specialize to my taste later so I decided to go with the Evic VTC mini. The store was waiting for them to come in. So I went in that day and they didn't arrive. However they had suggested the aspire Odyssey kit that had just come in instead. Although I hadn't researched it specifically I decided to take the risk due to my previous experience with the aspire pen, and the staff/store.

I started vaping on the Pegasus with the 1.8 ohm coil. 2 tanks in I decided to switch to the 0.15 ohm ni-200 coil and try TC. It switched into temp control mode no problem but the coil was registering at 0.23 ohms. I got worried because according to the instructions "Coils that have a resistance above 0.15 ohms will continue to read as 0.15 ohms when vaped in tempurature control mode." The way I read this is that the mod WILL NOT show TC coils above 0.15 ohms on the screen, so I thought there may be something wrong.
Was I reading the instructions wrong, or is there possibly something else going on?