Triton RTA

Here is my review of the Triton RTA. First, let me say that I have loved this tank since I received it. The 1.8 Ohm coil is just awesome for flavor, and I used mine for a month while waiting for my RTA to arrive.

I am fairly new to building coils, but was able to get quite a bit of practice before tackling this RTA. I have a dual coil dripper, and also a subtank mini, and have not had any issues at all with either. I used the coil that came with the Triton, and it was great at first but after about five days it started spitting and tasted like metal. OK, time to build a new coil.

I used 26 gauge Kanthal with a 3.5mm coil and stayed within specs for size. I have made 12-15 such coils, varying them a bit so they come in at a range of .6 Ohm to 1.5 Ohm. I tested every one before using them on my iStick 30W and my Cool Fire IV 40W mods. I am not a subohm fan, so I stay on the lower end of wattage, anywhere from 9 to 25 watts depending on the coil.

I have to say, this thing is driving me nuts. I wanted so badly for this to work that I have wasted a ridiculous amount of wire, cotton and juice. Every coil I put in this thing fires for about two hits, and shorts out. I am very careful that the coils do not touch the sides of the RTA, but no matter what I do they all short out!

I have never been so excited to experience a tank as I was with the Triton, and especially the RTA section. This is a huge disappointment for me, and I would appreciate any help on the subject, or a replacement RTA. I do believe there is something wrong with this one.
Comments
  • 36 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited July 2015 Vote Up1Vote Down
    @watkijw here is suggested specification for Triton RTA coil

For 26 gauge ,inner diameter 3.5mm,the suggested resistance is 0.9 ohm.
    Please make sure the wire doesn't contact the inner barrel(even a little contact will cause a short)